#reverb10 – December 20 – Beyond Avoidance

The #reverb10 prompt for December 20 was: What should you have done this year but didn’t because you were too scared, worried, unsure, busy or otherwise deterred from doing? (Bonus: Will you do it?) (Author: Jake Nickell)

I’ve avoided building myself a flag pole this year. When I was a kid, I was given a flag pole by a neighbor. I’ve been collecting flags ever since and swore to myself that as soon as I owned my own house that I would build a flag pole and fly my flags. It’s been my dream that I have had for almost two decades and I’ve done nothing about it for the year (and three days) that I’ve been a homeowner. I took little steps towards doing so, tried to figure out this and that, acted like I was trying to get it done. I’ve used logistics as the excuse to not to build it. I couldn’t build it because it wasn’t exactly perfect. I couldn’t fly all my flags from the pole because I am height restricted in the flag pole I can build because there are utility wires above the location I want to put the flag pole in. This restricted me from flying my largest flags, which are a very small percentage of my overall collection. These were all excuses that I used to avoid actually getting the job done. I don’t know what my fear was, but I know that I’m over it.

I’m over the not being able to fly all my flags bit. I’m going to build it so I can fly the vast majority of the flags I own. It’s not going to take a long time to build, but I plan to do so within the next month or so. I’m really looking forward to flying my flags in front of my own house.

Leave a comment

Filed under #reverb10

Leave a comment